Vitamin D at high levels increases susceptibility to death

Vitamin D is very important for bone strength and the deficiency of which results in impaired bone mineralization and bone damage leading to bone-softening diseases. Body can synthesize this vitamin from freely available sunlight. However the risk of skin cancer due to exposure to sunlight leads to the deficiency of Vitamin D. Several studies showed that extremely low levels of this Vitamin can prove detrimental to our health.

Doctors prescribe supplements for the Vitamin D deficienct patients which lead to aberrant levels of Vitamin D in some patients. But the level of Vitamin D in our blood should neither be too high nor too low. For the first time, scientists from the University of Copenhagen showed a connection between high levels of Vitamin D and cardiovascular deaths. Their study shows that extremely high levels of Vitamin D in our blood is connected to an increased risk of dying from a stroke or heart disease.

“We have studied the level of Vitamin D in 247,574 Danes, and so far, it constitutes the world’s largest basis for this type of study. We have also analysed their mortality rate over a 7-year period after taking the initial blood sample, and in that time 16,645 patients had died. Furthermore, we have looked at the connection between their deaths and their levels of Vitamin D”, Professor at the Department of Clinical Medicine and physician at Glostrup Hospital, Peter Schwarz, explains. The findings were published in the world-renowned Journal of Endocrinology and Metabolism. The study confirms that there is indeed a correlation between mortality rates and low or high levels of Vitamin D.

“If your Vitamin D level is below 50 or over 100 nanomol per litre, there is a greater connection to deaths. We have looked at what caused the death of patients, and when numbers are above 100, it appears that there is an increased risk of dying from a stroke or a heart condition. In other words, levels of Vitamin D should not be too low, but neither should they be too high. Levels should be somewhere in between 50 and 100 nanomol per litre, and our study indicates that 70 is the most preferable level“, Peter Schwartz states. This study greatly influences the future of nutritional supplements intake and manufacture.

Image: Vitamin D (http://bit.ly/1GfdN9s)      Image: Vitamin D (http://bit.ly/1GfdN9s)

“These are very important results, because there is such great focus on eating Vitamin D. We should use this information to ask ourselves whether or not we should continue to eat vitamins and nutritional supplements as if they were sweets. You shouldn’t simply up the dose to feel better. We should only consume such vitamins in close coordination with our GP”, Peter Schwartz concludes.

Original article can be accessed here.

Published by sriram.seshadri

I am an active academician and a researcher with a strong hold on the administrative know how. My research interest includes, gut microbiota, Immunology and liver inflammation; understanding the role of catspers and TLRs in sperm function. Academically, I am involved in teaching reproductive physiology, biochemical toxicology, endocrinology and vaccinology. Additionally, I also offer Enrichment courses related to diabetes, gastro-intestinal cancer and male reproduction physiology and understanding infertility. Administratively, I am involved in Institute Quality Assurance, Academic Coordinator, Examination Reforms and Institute Strategic Plan Implementation

One thought on “Vitamin D at high levels increases susceptibility to death

  1. Hi, could you please reblog posts from Biotechin.asia and not just copy-paste it without the credits? It is violation of publishing rights. Thank you.

Leave a comment

Amee K

Blogger & Assistant professor, Institute of Science, Nirma University

Cancer Biology

My knowledge, my understanding and my blog

Mysteries of Brain: Probabilities and Possibilities of Neuron Communication

The brain is a monstrous, beautiful mess. Its billions of nerve cells - called neurons - lie in a tangled web that displays cognitive powers far exceeding any of the silicon machines we have built to mimic it. So this blog will try to express mysteries of brain.

Structural Biology

My knowledge, my understanding and my blog

Bioanalytical Techniques

My knowledge, my understanding and my blog

Metabolism

My knowledge, my understanding and my blog

General and Applied Microbiology

My knowledge, my understanding and my blog

Industrial Microbiology and Fermentation Technology

My knowledge, my understanding and my blog

Medical Microbiology and Virology

My knowledge, my understanding and my blog

Sonal Bakshi

My knowledge, my understanding and my blog

Dr. Sriram Seshadri

My knowledge, my understanding and my blog

Wander Woman Thea

Taste, Travel, Tell

snehalpharma53

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dr. Shraddha Bhadada

Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Insititute of Pharmacy, Nirma University

Science Translation

Research, education, awareness

Research Promotion

Funds for research promotion